Me-Made May 2014

April 30th! I’m not quite sure where the month’s gone. (I’m sure it was February just recently …) Anyway, tomorrow we head into May, and with it one of the landmark events of the sewing blogosphere year: Me-Made May.

To quote So, Zo …, founder of the challenge, in her post introducing this year’s incarnation:

What is MMM’14?

Me-Made-May ’14 (MMM ’14 for short) is a challenge designed to encourage people who sew/knit/crochet/refashion/upcycle garments for themselves to actually wear and love them. The me-made and self-stitched challenges have been taking place for over four years now and they work on both a personal and community level. The participants decide the specifics of their own challenge pledge, so that the month is appropriate and challenging for them (more on this below). A very common pledge is for a participant to aim to wear one self-stitched or refashioned garment each day for the duration of May 2014. The participants can also choose to document their challenge with daily photos (though this is in no way compulsory for taking part) and share them with other participants (more on this below).

I haven’t done MMM before, but I have a reasonable library of me-made garments these days, so I – after some thought – decided to go with the ‘standard’ challenge:

I, CraftAlchemy – https://craftalchemy.wordpress.com – sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’14. I endeavour to wear at least 1 handmade garment each day for the duration of May 2014.

I won’t be taking daily outfit photos. I’m bad enough at remembering to take photos of finished projects even when I don’t have to do it every day. I will endeavour, though, to at least keep track of what I’m wearing – I have a spreadsheet! – and, more to the point (as previously discussed in this post) what I’m not wearing. I have my suspicions as to the trends, but it’ll be interesting to have concrete numbers.

I’m not planning to make anything specifically to help me along with MMM. I have a sewing project on the table for someone else, then two more queued up for me, but who knows when I’ll get to those? Not I …

About Craft (Alchemy)

I make things and make things up.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Me-Made May 2014

  1. Tyraenna says:

    I’ve never done Me-Made May before either, but I don’t know that I have enough self-made spring garments to wear for a month! I might have enough costumes to do a week?? LOL Maybe I will be able to work on this and participate next year! 🙂

Leave a reply

