Tentacular Ham

ham-title

So this was made ages ago, but I am feeling a bit overwhelmed by the five (5) finished and un-blogged garment projects I made since my last post and wanted to write about something a) quick, b) silly and c) which I already had photos of.

I did without a pressing ham for ages, generally making do with a bundled-up towel. Then one day I decided I needed one. But why make a boring plain pressing ham when I could make … a MONSTER HAM?

This little guy’s name is Nietzsche (he gazes also into you) and he has two pattern pieces: a pointed oval and a wonky tracing of my finger. I cut four of the first and 18 of the latter.

ham-pattern

After that the steps went like this:

1. Sew two pairs of ovals together into sort of dish shapes.

2. Sew 9 pairs of finger-shapes together and turn them inside out, to be tentacles.

ham-fingers

3. Pin dish shapes right sides together, with tentacles trapped inside. Leave gap for stuffing. Sew together. Turn right side out.

ham-sewn

ham-empty

4. Stuff with fabric scraps until reasonably solid.

5. Close gap.

6. Frankenstein-appliqué huge bloodshot eye over the top. Contemplate adding additional eyes. Decide life is too short.

7. Gaze lovingly upon your creation (maniacal laughter optional)

ham-final

About Craft (Alchemy)

I make things and make things up.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tentacular Ham

  1. A ham HP Lovecraft would approve of!

Leave a reply

