Top to bottom: Equipment

ttb2-title

After two years of demon-haunted mayhem, the current campaign for my once-a-month LARP club came to an end in July. On September 21st we kicked off an all-new sword-and-sorcery adventure, which means new characters, which means NEW KIT! My ambition for my new character was to make all of her costume (clothes, not counting equipment) myself, top to bottom …

… so, I may have shifted the posts for this a bit. On the one hand, I haven’t finished all her regular clothes yet. (I will though!) On the other, I have made some of her equipment, which was not part of the original deal. Knitting! Leatherwork! All the fun of the fair!

Headscarf

ttb2-scarf1

I wanted something to help keep my wig in place, and figured it’d also be useful to help cover my ears – the character is a half-elf, and in-setting they tend to be feared or distrusted. (Elves are bad enough, but humans and elves reproducing together? The sky is falling …) Most attempt to blend in with the human majority by concealing their pointed ears. The wig largely covers them up, but the scarf makes sure of it.

The scarf is hand-knitted, by me, and I am so proud of myself. A mere rectangle it might be, but it’s still my first knitted object and I’m pleased with it. The brown, very thick, very furry wool came from a charity shop; my friend who actually knows about knitting says it’s good quality, and might be angora or similar.

ttb2-scarf2

It’s basically similar in shape and function to the stretchy fabric buff that some athletes wear – a tube that you can wrap and twist around your head for whatever purpose. (Melissa from Fehr Trade has a great tutorial on sewing your own here.) This woolly one is far too itchy to have against your skin, but over the wig it’s fine.

Bracer

The bracer is a leather guard archers wear on the inside of their bow arm to stop the bowstring hitting their wrist. If you’re careful, it shouldn’t hit anyway – but everyone makes mistakes, and a bowstring hitting an unprotected arm is nasty. They pack enough force to launch an arrow at 150mph, after all.

ttb2-bracer1

This one is made from the lower segment of one of the sleeves of the coat I deconstructed to make the jerkin, lined and with lacing to keep it done up. The loops and the lacing itself are cotton twill tape. Beads from somewhere on eBay, ages ago.

ttb2-bracer2

ttb2-bracer3

It has enough extra room to keep a throwing knife stashed in there, too.

Quiver

The quiver is the thing you carry arrows in, up to a maximum of maybe eight; pack them in too tightly and the fletchings – feathers that make it fly straight – get crushed. (A medieval archer going into battle would probably carry a linen arrow-bag with a wooden frame in, which could hold many more arrows.) Real arrows go into the quiver fletching-up. LARP arrows have huge foam cushions on the end to make them safe, and so go into the quiver fletching-down.

ttb2-quiver1

This quiver is made from the other unused sleeve of the coat I took apart to make my jerkin, with a bit of extra leather around the top edge and a loop to thread it onto my belt. A plug here for my walking foot (this one – it’s Janome branded but a universal fitting, and attaches to my Brother machine just fine) and for my wonderful mum who bought it for me: I had to go through six layers of leather at one point in the construction here and it would have been completely impossible without the walking foot. That and a 100/16 leather needle.

ttb2-quiver2

The bottom I just stitched closed and then gave box corners:

ttb2-quiver3

The elbow dart in the sleeve makes the quiver slightly curved, which in turn makes it crumple when it’s hanging. Barely noticeable though.

ttb2-quiver4

All these bits made their debut at the maiden event last Sunday, and so any stains that may be showing are authentic mud stains gained in action. Exciting!

About Craft (Alchemy)

I make things and make things up.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top to bottom: Equipment

  1. Pingback: Top to bottom: Jerkin | Craft (Alchemy)

Leave a reply

