V1419: IT IS DONE

V1419-title

I started this at the beginning of November and hoped to finish in time for the end of the #V1419sewalong on the 17th. I didn’t. I then promised my mum I would have it ready to show her when we went to the Knitting & Stitching Show on the 22nd. It was. Just. I didn’t have time to do pockets, and the last bit of bias binding went on at 11pm on the evening of the 21st. If I hadn’t been working to that deadline, I suspect it would have gotten thrown into the UFO pile in frustration quite a while ago. I never wish to see a bound seam again.

I wore it out to Harrogate on Saturday and had one of those glorious days where suddenly all the hours of work seem worth it. It was warm. It was comfy. Mum loved it. Five separate people complimented me on it out of the blue. I am unreasonably proud of myself.

v1419-front2

This is my second version of V1419 and it is worlds away from its sister. My blue version is great fun, but very costume-y and the construction suffered from the stiffness of the interfaced fabric. This one is very much more the sort of thing the pattern was intended for … although I’ve still gone wildly off-script, naturally.

v1419-side

The fabric a slightly felted wool/poly blend; it’s gorgeous and warm and the stitches just disappear into it, to the point where I was dreading the point where I’d have to rip a wool/wool seam. Marvel of marvels, I didn’t. I took care and used lots of pins and pretty much everything went in right first time, which is basically a miracle.

v1419-binding

All the seam binding is hand-stitched on, as with the blue version. It went so much more quickly this time around but still took forever. I lost count of how much binding I used.

v1419-zips

Zips! The shoulder zips are purely decorative and conceal the shoulder dart (to have one less seam to bind, I sewed the shoulder dart wrong sides together, trimmed the seam allowance right down and then hid it under the zip). The front zip is the main closure, while the wrist zips let me switch up my sleeve shape. The full bell sleeves are gorgeous but impractical – being able to zip them into a straight shape is useful. When zipped closed, the hidden wedge also forms a tiny pocket useful for handkerchiefs, swatches, and other small but vital items.

v1419-sleeve-open

I cut the back as two pieces with the aim of curving the back seam to a closer fit – then realised I’d forgotten to add seam allowance. I had to splice in an extra strip to make the back wide enough; I chose to make a feature of it by using the black fabric, and curved both of the not-quite-CB seams at the waistline.

v1419-back1

 

The stripe is of equal width all the way down, but doesn’t always look it in the photos. It finishes a couple of centimetres shorter than the main back pieces, giving a rectangular notch at the hem.

I haven’t decided quite what I want to do with the inbuilt belt. For the moment it’s safety-pinned, and in these photos is hiding under the enormous other belt (from a charity shop ages ago, and extended somewhat.)

v1419-belt

Specs

Pattern: Vogue 1419 with fit modifications described here, here and above.

Shell: 80/20 wool/acrylic mix (“Wool Mix Ede”) from MyFabrics; I used 2m of the grey colourway, and 1m of the black.

Seam binding: polyester paisley jacquard in red, from Minerva Crafts.

Zips: YKK, various lengths (4x 28cm and 1x 76cm), from Athena Crafts (do I detect a less than subtle attempt to piggyback on an established brand here?)

D-rings: From stash.

I should say thanks at this point to Lauren (Lladybird) and Meg Carter (McCall’s) for hosting the #V1419Sewalong. I will cop to ignoring almost all their advice – except for Lauren’s clapper evangelism, clappers are magic – but without it I wouldn’t have given this pattern a proper look, and I certainly wouldn’t have had a go at it. Having other people tackling the same project or theme at the same time (and being able to gripe about it together on Twitter) does wonders for overcoming the slough of despond that sets in when you’ve sewn 9000 yards of bias binding and still have an apparently infinite amount to go.

v1419-front

 

About Craft (Alchemy)

I make things and make things up.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to V1419: IT IS DONE

  1. Andie L. says:

    This is amazing!!! I must admit I don’t like the original pattern, but your version makes me love it. The zips and the two different greys make it look amazing. I just love the asymmetrical zip at the front. Great job! Seriously, I want this jacket!

  2. Andie L. says:

    Also, it looks ridiculously great on you!

  3. That is amazing! I like what you did with the sleeve zips. Very clever and practical.

  4. Andie – Thank you! If you want to copy it go right ahead 😀 Or you could probably get a similar effect from another asymmetric-front jacket pattern.

    Catherine – Thanks! I was worried it wouldn’t work, but in the event the trickiest bit was sewing them on (I did it after the sleeve was assembled, as it was difficult to figure out how much of a wedge I needed to take out when looking at the flat pattern). I’ve been keeping them zipped up most of the time as the straight sleeve is so much easier to deal with. Meg who was co-hosting the sewalong also de-belled hers: http://blog.mccall.com/?p=866

  5. Carolyn says:

    Wow, this is awesome! What an interesting and unique take on the pattern. One of the many great things about sewing is being able to make a pattern your own, and I really love all the modifications you made here. Congrats on tackling this project and all the miles of bias binding! 🙂

  6. Pingback: Top 5s for 2014: Hits | Craft (Alchemy)

  7. Pingback: Top 5s for 2014: Misses | Craft (Alchemy)

  8. Pingback: “The present content of the window appeared to be worryingly metaphorical …” | Craft (Alchemy)

Leave a reply

