Are you ready, boots?

boots-old

I like boots. Boots do not like me.

I own one pair of knee-high boots, which are heavy goth platforms that do up with Velcro (as seen here and here). They’re the only knee-highs I’ve ever tried that actually fit, thanks to that forgiving Velcro fastening. I have 17″/46cm calves and apparently chunky ankles (I can sometimes get wide-calf boots that go round the widest point of my calf, but they almost never fit at the ankle) and I have basically given up on getting properly fitting non-Velcro kneeboots until such time as I can afford Duos.

But I still really want some, and every couple of years I’ll grab a pair off eBay in the hope that maybe this will be the time that the advertised wide calf actually materialises. It never is.

This time round, I contemplated the pair of wasp-ankled boots sitting forlornly on my table and reflected that they were mostly pleather, which compared to multi-layer denim or real leather is a walk in the park in sewing terms …

Some time later:

boots-side1

I don’t have progress photos of these, unfortunately; I did almost all the construction in one go and didn’t stop for pictures. (Confession: this was last autumn. I put the boots to one side to finish up V1419, and didn’t get back to them til now, when I realised they’d go brilliantly with my MyImage M1253 leggings.) They’re fairly basic boots with an elastic side panel (wide-calf fit, hell) and a zip at the inside leg. I took off the decorative buckle, cut a strip out from the centre front, and attached corset tape to the long edges, then added a tongue and small patches to cover various raw corners. The tongue and patch at the bottom of the slit are glued in place, as the sewing machine couldn’t get down there; the rest is sewn.

boots-front1

Perhaps inevitably, I not only laced them irregularly but managed different mistakes on each boot. Ah well. In other news, corset tape is magic. I bought it from Sewing Chest as a 1.5m remnant. Now I know this exists, I am never setting eyelets by hand ever again. The lacing is polyester cord from Minerva, with the ends melted to stop them fraying.

Side view:

boots-side2

Back view (pretty much unchanged):

boots-back

Verdict: HUGE SUCCESS. If anything they’re now a bit big, which means I should be able to get them on over skinny jeans. They crumple at the ankle, but a lot of boots do that. And the corset tape is real coutil, so if/when the boots themselves give out (they were pretty cheap) I should be able to unpick the tape to use again.

Huzzah!

boots-twirl

About Craft (Alchemy)

I make things and make things up.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Are you ready, boots?

  1. I am in awe. This is such a good idea! They look fab.

  2. Andie L. says:

    What a great idea! 🙂 They look awesome!

  3. Wow! That is a great idea! I can’t believe I never thought to do that. That would make getting boots for Cosplay SO much easier.

  4. Thanks, everyone! I’ll have to see how they hold up. I’m more worried about the glue than the stitching, if anything …

    Evelyn, I think it’d definitely be adaptable for cosplay boots. (Why do so many costumes include knee-high boots?) Maybe not with the laces, depending on the costume, but I reckon you could slash and spread a boot to put in extra panels and get width that way, although it’d be hard to get a clean finish …

  5. Pingback: My oldest UFO, in numbers | Craft (Alchemy)

  6. Pingback: Top 5s of 2015 | Craft (Alchemy)

Leave a reply

