Pink!

I’m not dead! Sewing’s been slow, though, thanks to dentistry – I’ve had three wisdom teeth out in the last month and do not quite trust myself to operate the go-fast-and-stab-things machine when dealing with dental pain and/or dental painkillers. I finished these … a while ago … and never got to blogging them.

I don’t do skirts other than in costume. I’m also woefully short of lightweight trousers. This means that every summer when the sun finally comes out I run up against a trousering dilemma: wear shorts and burn, or wear jeans and boil? Some middle ground is called for.

pt-front1

These are a lovely lightweight cotton from Minerva. It’s advertised as linen-look, and it does a fine linen impersonation, right down to the fact that it won’t stay pressed for more than four seconds and wrinkles if you look at it funny.

pt-waistband

The pocket bags and inner waistband are leftovers from the Least Tasteful Item because how could I not. For once I didn’t want to leave my seams raw – or even zigzagged – because this fabric frays like anything, so I finished every reachable seam with bias binding. The only one I left as-is was the crotch seam, as binding would have been too bulky. Here’s hoping it holds up …

pt-binding

I put patch pockets on. One of them has a butterfly.

pt-butterfly

Another pair of Sewaholic Thurlows with all the tweaks they’ve accrued. I think I hemmed them a bit too high. So far am not quite bothered enough to unpick and re-do.

I am acutely aware of the flaws in these, but have been wearing them a ton as they’re comfy and, yes, light. Now, of course, it’s cold again …

About Craft (Alchemy)

I make things and make things up.
This entry was posted in sewing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pink!

  1. Carolyn says:

    Bright pink pants!! Love these! I’m sure you’ll get a ton of compliments on such a fun garment, and I love the details you added. You’ll have to flash your pocket lining to people when they compliment your pants. 🙂

    Hope you’ve been feeling better. I had my wisdom teeth out many years ago and still remember very vividly how painful and uncomfortable it was. Hang in there.

Leave a reply

